Ranking
· Ranking

JUVE Handbuch Wirtschaftskanzleien 2020/2021

Top-tier ranking for private equity, venture capital and succession/private clients/foundations, 8 professionals are “leading advisors”

JUVE-Verlag has published its “JUVE Handbuch Wirtschaftskanzleien” (JUVE Handbook Commercial Law Firms) for more than 20 years and it has become the reference work and benchmark for the assessment of the German legal market. Comprehensive and independent research on law firms, corporate management, government officials and members of the judiciary and scholarship establish the basis for the rankings of almost 800 law firms.

POELLATH has once again achieved top-tier rankings for the private equity, venture capital and succession/private clients/foundations with 8 “leading” advisors and a total of 22 listed partners.

The succession/private clients practice scored three “leading” advisors. The Berlin partner Andreas Richter was recommended as leading in two areas, first for his advice to entrepreneurs and wealthy private clients and again for his competence in all foundation-related matters. The Munich partner Stephan Viskorf is also one of the “leading” experts. Competitors attest to his “significant know-how in inheritance tax law” and founding partner Prof. Reinhard Pöllath is also included in the league of top experts. The firm has been a market leader for its succession and private clients and foundation advisory for many years and has also succeeded, thanks to the excellent relationships of Mr. Richter and Mr. Martin Liebernickel in the forefront, to build a “respectable” practice in Frankfurt. Mr. Liebernickel is known for his strengths in national and international inheritance law and his colleague Katharina Gollan is a “proven expert in foundation and non-profit law”; they both demonstrate the potential to establish themselves in the market alongside the leading partners. Matthias Bruse is “professionally strong, determined, but at the same time solution-oriented and fair” and is also a “frequently recommended” advisor in four different areas at once. He is known not just for his advice on succession and investments, but also for his competence in private equity, M&A and corporate law.

The “powerful” team – with partner Eva Nase, who advises in a “solution-oriented rather than a problem-oriented manner” with her “strong legal rationale” – has managed to develop the corporate law practice from a “support unit for the strong private equity and M&A teams into its own powerhouse”. In addition to advising family companies and advising on stock corporation and group law, public takeovers and corporate law proceedings, the focus is increasingly on advising international minority shareholders.

Eva Nase is also well-known for her private equity and M&A expertise. Clients attest to the fact that she “goes for the goal” and “keeps an eye on the client’s interests”.

The circle of “frequently recommended” experts also includes Michael Inhester, who is known for both his competence in corporate law and his expertise in private equity and M&A.

Supervision of transactions at POELLATH is not just limited to M&A, but also extends to venture capital exits, strategic M&A and advising managing directors and executive boards on sales of companies and management participation programs, for which the firm has an “almost unrivalled position” and an “excellent reputation”. Therefore, almost all advisors who are “frequently recommended” for M&A are also known for their expertise in private equity and/or venture capital, for which the firm receives an additional top-tier ranking and has three “leading” partners.

In addition to the „frequently recommended” advisors Matthias Bruse, Jens Hörmann, Michael Inhester, Otto Haberstock and Benedikt Hohaus, Andrea von Drygalski, Philipp von Braunschweig and Frank Thiäner are also listed as “leading” for their private equity expertise, along with Christian Tönies for his venture capital advice. He is “simply brilliant, calm, matter-of-fact, solution-oriented”. According to JUVE, there is almost no other law firm that serves the entire spectrum from early VC financing and fintech to healthcare investments and private equity deals on the threshold of the large-cap segment. This broad orientation and network, as well as a “solid client base”, also benefit the firm in times of economic collapse. The development of the antitrust law practice in Frankfurt through an associated partner [Daniel Wiedmann] has also caught the attention of the market.

Another of the firm’s foundations is advising on PE and VC fund structuring, for which the firm has an “excellent reputation”. Here, “almost no other competitor can hold a candle to the fund specialist”. The firm also has a “singular market position” for its advisory to funds on which public and private investors cooperate. The firm offers regulatory and tax advice on structuring, documentation, launching and closing of funds and supports investors in their capital investments. In addition to PE and VC funds, the firm also focuses on infrastructure and real estate.

The partners who are particularly “frequently recommended” include Andreas Rodin (“knows the German fund market and the pitfalls like no one else”), Amos Veith and Uwe Bärenz (“very experienced”).

The real estate team also has an “excellent reputation” with the “leading” partner Stefan Lebek, whom even competitors recommend as being “first class”. The repertoire includes project development with a focus on structuring, financing, acquisition and sales strategies, as well as “large and complex deals” that are “tailor-made” for the firm. The advice relates not merely to the real estate aspects, but often integrates financiers, corporate and particularly tax law experts. This close alliance between corporate and tax law is one of the strengths of the practice. Another step toward the enduring establishment of the practice is the appointment of an associated partner [Kim Geißler]. Stefan Lebek and Matthias Durst are both “frequently recommended”. Mr. Durst is praised as a “good negotiator” who “sets the right priorities”. He is considered “very reliable [and] extremely capable”. Both partners stand out for their “extensive experience”, are “practical” and are known in the market as “excellent attorneys with a very good understanding of economics”.

Services
Contact
goede-monika-portrait
Monika Goede
Marketing
+49 (89) 24 24 0 - 228 call

Ranking
· Ranking

JUVE Handbuch Wirtschaftskanzleien 2020/2021

Top Tier-Bewertung für Private Equity, Venture Capital und Nachfolge/Vermögen/Stiftungen, 8 Professionals als „führende Berater“

Der JUVE-Verlag veröffentlicht sein „JUVE Handbuch Wirtschaftskanzleien“ nun schon seit mehr als 20 Jahren und ist damit zum Referenz- und Standardwerk für die Bewertung des deutschen Anwaltsmarkts avanciert. Umfangreiche und unabhängige Recherchen bei Kanzleien, Unternehmensverantwortlichen, Behördenvertretern und Mitarbeitern aus Justiz und Wissenschaft schaffen die Basis für das Ranking von fast 800 Kanzleien.

POELLATH hat auch in diesem Jahr ein Top Tier-Ranking in den Bereichen Private Equity, Venture Capital und Nachfolge/Vermögen/Stiftungen erreicht mit acht „führenden“ Beratern und insgesamt 22 gelisteten Partnern.

Allein im Bereich Nachfolge/Vermögen kann POELLATH mit drei „führenden“ Beratern punkten. Der Berliner Partner Dr. Andreas Richter wurde gleich in zwei Bereichen als führend empfohlen, einmal für seine Beratung von Unternehmern und Vermögenden Privatpersonen und ebenfalls für seine Kompetenz in allen Stiftungsthemen. Auch der Münchner Partner Dr. Stephan Viskorf gehört zu den „führenden“ Topexperten. Wettbewerber bescheinigen ihm „erhebliches Know-How im Erbschaftsteuerrecht“ und auch Gründungspartner Prof. Dr. Reinhard Pöllath ist in der Riege der Topexperten vertreten. Die Kanzlei gehört für ihre Nachfolge- und Vermögens- bzw. Stiftungsberatung seit Jahren zu den „Marktführern“ und hat es darüber hinaus geschafft, dank der guten Beziehungen von Dr. Richter und mit Dr. Martin Liebernickel an der Spitze auch in Frankfurt eine „respektable“ Praxis aufzubauen. Dr. Liebernickel ist für seine Stärke im nationalen und internationalen Erbrecht bekannt und zeigt ebenso wie seine Kollegin Dr. Katharina Gollan, laut Wettbewerbern eine „ausgewiesene Expertin im Stiftungs- und Gemeinnützigkeitsrecht“, das Potential, sich im Markt neben den führenden Partnern zu etablieren. Auch Dr. Matthias Bruse, der „fachlich stark, durchsetzungsstark, aber zugleich lösungsorientiert und fair“ agiert, ist ein „oft empfohlener“ Berater und zwar gleich in vier verschiedenen Arbeitsgebieten. Er ist nicht nur für seine Nachfolge- und Vermögensberatung bekannt, sondern ebenfalls für seine Kompetenz in den Bereichen Private Equity und M&A sowie im Gesellschaftsrecht.

Hier hat es das „schlagkräftige“ Team um Partnerin Dr. Eva Nase, die mit ihrer „starken juristischen Argumentation“ „lösungs- statt problemorientiert“ berät, geschafft, dass sich das Gesellschaftsrecht von einer „Supporteinheit der starken Private-Equity und M&A-Teams zu einem eigenen kleinen Kraftzentrum“ entwickeln konnte. Neben der Beratung von Familienunternehmen, zum Aktien- und Konzernrecht, bei öffentlichen Übernahmen und gesellschaftsrechtlichen Prozessen liegt der Schwerpunkt zunehmend bei der Beratung von internationalen Minderheitsaktionären.

Dr. Nase kann darüber hinaus auch im Bereich Private Equity und M&A punkten. Mandanten bescheinigen ihr, dass sie mit „Zug zum Tor“ das „Mandanteninteresse im Blick“ hat.

Zum Kreis der „oft empfohlenen“ Experten gehört auch Dr. Michael Inhester für seine Kompetenz im Gesellschaftsrecht sowie seine Private Equity- und M&A-Expertise.

Die Transaktionsbegleitung bei POELLATH ist nie nur auf M&A beschränkt, sondern erstreckt sich auch auf Venture Capital-Exits, strategisches M&A und die Beratung von Geschäftsführern und Vorständen zu Unternehmensverkäufen und Managementbeteiligungen, wo die Kanzlei eine „fast konkurrenzlose Stellung“ einnimmt und einen „hervorragenden Ruf“ hat. Daher sind alle Berater, die im M&A-Bereich empfohlen werden, auch für ihre Expertise in den Bereichen Private Equity und/oder Venture Capital bekannt, wo sich die Sozietät mit einem weiteren Top Tier-Ranking und drei „führenden“ Partnern platzieren konnte.

Neben den „oft empfohlenen“ Beratern Dr. Matthias Bruse, Jens Hörmann, Dr. Michael Inhester, Otto Haberstock und Dr. Benedikt Hohaus sind Dr. Andrea von Drygalski, Philipp von Braunschweig und Dr. Frank Thiäner als „führend“ für ihre Private Equity-Kompetenz gelistet ebenso wie Christian Tönies für seine Venture Capital-Beratung. Er ist „einfach klasse“, „ruhig, sachlich, lösungsorientiert“.

Laut JUVE gibt es im deutschen Markt fast keine andere Kanzlei, die die gesamte Bandbreite von frühen VC-Finanzierungen und Fintech bis hin zu Healthcare-Investments und Private Equity-Deals an der Schwelle zum Large-Cap-Segment bedient. Diese breite Ausrichtung und Vernetzung sowie eine „solide Mandantenbasis“ kommt der Kanzlei auch in Zeiten von Konjunkturabstürzen zu Gute. Auch der Aufbau der Kartellrechtpraxis in Frankfurt durch einen Associated Partner [Daniel Wiedmann] sorgte im Markt für Aufmerksamkeit.

Ein weiteres Fundament der Kanzlei ist die Beratung bei PE- und VC- Fondsstrukturierungen, wo die Kanzlei einen „hervorragenden Ruf“ hat. Hier „reicht den Fondsspezialisten kaum ein Wettbewerber das Wasser“. Auch die Beratungen von Fonds, bei denen öffentlich-rechtliche und private Investoren zusammenarbeiten, verschaffen der Kanzlei eine „herausgehobene Marktposition“. Die Sozietät bietet aufsichts- und steuerrechtliche Beratung sowie zu Strukturierung, Dokumentation, Auflegung und Closing von Fonds und unterstützt Investoren bei ihren Kapitalanlagen. Die Schwerpunkte liegen neben PE- und VC-Fonds auch in den Bereichen Infrastruktur und Immobilien.

Besonders „oft empfohlen“ werden Dr. Andreas Rodin („kennt den deutschen Fondsmarkt und die Tücken wie kein zweiter“), Amos Veith und Uwe Bärenz („sehr erfahren“).

Einen „hervorragenden Ruf“ genießt auch das Immobilienteam mit dem „führenden“ Partner Dr. Stefan Lebek, den selbst Wettbewerber als „erstklassig“ empfehlen. Zum Repertoire gehören Projektentwicklungen mit Fokus auf Strukturierungen, Finanzierungen, An- und Verkaufsstrategien sowie „große und komplexe Deals“, die wie „maßgeschneidert“ für die Sozietät sind. Die Beratung erfolgt nicht nur in Bezug auf immobilienrechtliche Aspekte, sondern bindet regelmäßig auch Finanzierer, Gesellschafts- und insbesondere auch Steuerrechtsexperten ein. Diese enge Verknüpfung von Gesellschafts- und Steuerrecht ist eine der Stärken des Bereichs. Ein weiterer Schritt zur nachhaltigen Aufstellung des Bereichs ist die Ernennung einer Associated Partnerin [Dr. Kim Geißler]. „Oft empfohlen“ wird neben Dr. Stefan Lebek auch Dr. Matthias Durst. Auch er wird von seinen Kollegen als „guter Verhandler“ gelobt, der „die richtigen Akzente“ setzt. Er gilt als „sehr verlässlich [und] extrem leistungsfähig“. Beide Partner zeichnen sich durch ihre „große Erfahrung“ aus, sind „praxisnah“ und im Markt als „exzellente Juristen mit sehr gutem wirtschaftlichen Verständnis“ bekannt. 

Expertise
Ansprechpartnerin
goede-monika-portrait
Monika Goede
Marketing
+49 (89) 24 24 0 - 228 anrufen